Which Escape Academy 2 Key Works for Couch Co-op?

Escape Academy 2 supports split screen couch co-op for two players on PC and Xbox, plus PS5, per the official store pages and PlayStation Blog. It launches November 5, 2026. Official pages do not say how many copies couch co-op needs. On PC, pick a Steam or Xbox key to match your launcher.

How we rank

Last checked: Tuesday, October 20, 2026, against the Xbox, Steam and PlayStation pages listed under Sources.

AskLoot may earn a commission when you buy through its links.

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Commission never changes which offers we pick or the order of the list. How we rank

Short answer: split screen for two, copies not stated

The official Xbox listing shows "Xbox local co-op (2-2)" and "Shared/split screen" (Xbox, checked October 20, 2026). The Steam page lists "Shared/Split Screen Co-op" (Steam). Official pages list split screen couch co-op for two players on one screen but, as of October 20, 2026, do not state how many copies are needed. Check the store listing before you buy, and make sure the key matches the platform of the machine you will play on.

Release date and platforms

The Steam page shows November 5, 2026. The PlayStation Blog confirms PS5 on November 5 (PlayStation Blog, October 13, 2026). The Xbox store listing we opened today shows PC, Xbox Series X|S and Handheld; the SEO Desk's earlier check saw Xbox One listed there, and the publisher announcement names Xbox Series X|S. Check the platform label on the key. We will recheck the Xbox One status on publish day. The publisher's own page did not show a date when we checked, so we do not use it for the date.

Couch co-op vs online co-op

Couch co-op: split screen on one PC or one Xbox

The store copy on the Xbox listing says the game "features both online and splitscreen couch co-op support." Two players share one screen. How many copies that needs is not stated officially as of October 20, 2026.

Online co-op: check before you buy

The Xbox listing shows "Online co-op (2-2)," and Steam lists Online Co-op. Check the store listing for whether each player needs a copy (not stated officially as of October 20, 2026). The Xbox listing also notes that online multiplayer on console requires a Game Pass Essential, Premium or Ultimate subscription.

Playing across PC and Xbox

The Xbox listing shows "Xbox cross-platform co-op." It does not say which platforms that covers beyond Xbox console and PC. We could not confirm cross play with PS5 or Steam.

Which key for which launcher

  • Steam key: activates in Steam on PC (Steam Support).
  • Xbox key: redeemed on your Microsoft account, for Xbox Series X|S or the Xbox app on Windows (Xbox Support).
  • Epic Games: we could not confirm an Epic Games version on an official page today.

Keys do not swap between launchers.

Game Pass: unconfirmed

Game Pass is unconfirmed. Press coverage reported a Game Pass launch, but no official Xbox or publisher page we opened today states it. Check the listing on launch day.

Before you buy

  1. Platform label. Steam or Xbox, matching the machine you will play couch co-op on.
  2. Region label. Match it to your account region. See region locked Steam keys.

How AskLoot shows platform labels

AskLoot is an AI tool for finding PC and Xbox game keys. It does not cover every game. Where a game is listed, each result shows its platform and region label. See how we rank. Questions: hello@askloot.com.

Sources (checked Tuesday, October 20, 2026)

AskLoot may earn a commission when you buy through its links.

FAQ

Does Escape Academy 2 have couch co-op?

Yes. The official listings show online co-op and split screen couch co-op for two players.

Do both players need a copy for couch co-op?

Official pages list split screen couch co-op for two players on one screen but, as of October 20, 2026, do not state how many copies are needed. Check the store listing before you buy.

Is Escape Academy 2 on Xbox?

Yes. It launches on Xbox Series X|S and on PC through the Xbox app on November 5, 2026. Game Pass is not confirmed on the official listing.

Is Escape Academy 2 cross platform?

The Xbox listing shows cross platform co-op. Which platforms it covers beyond Xbox and PC is not confirmed.

When does Escape Academy 2 release?

November 5, 2026, on PC and Xbox, plus PS5.

Questions about AskLoot: hello@askloot.com